Post Happy

Sharable moment: Claire basking in the sun of Rachel’s Bath, on Compass Cay, Exumas!

The other day, I received a Facebook message from an acquaintance who in the course of our brief exchange, said, “You sure post a lot from your ‘remote locations.’” Their quotes around “remote location,” not mine.

It wasn’t the first time I’d received an offhand remark about my posting frequency on Facebook. And truthfully, it wasn’t news to me. I know I post a lot.  But I would like to offer some perspective.

When we moved onto the boat, we knowingly left behind our friends, our family, coworkers, and our community. Everyone that you interact with in a given day. It was one of the hardest parts of our decision, and we’ve come to realize how valuable even the briefest interactions are.

Dropping Claire off at preschool and having a quick chat with the fellow moms or dads. Aaron having a beer with a collegue after work. Even the predictable banter with the same barista at the local coffee shop each day. They are all little opportunities to connect with others.

If you think about it, when was the last time you emailed someone, not to coordinate schedules, but to catch up with them and ask them about their day/week/month? When was the last time you took the time at the end of a long day to call someone and check in? Or how often do you schedule video calls with friends and family? Honestly, back in “land life,” we hardly ever did.

I get it. Life is busy. We used to be in the daily grind of never enough minutes in a day. But whether it’s top of mind or not, you share your day with others – mostly in face-to-face interactions. And if nothing else, you share the events of the day with your spouse.

When we are in a bigger port, we are fortunate to interact with a few people in a given day –maybe the owner of the market or the server at the restaurant. Sometimes, we’re blessed to meet other cruising couples or families and plan outings together. But other times, we are in remote locations and don’t interact with anyone else the entire day – or multiple days. And as far as sharing your day with your spouse, well, Aaron spent the whole day with me. Nothing to report that he didn’t witness himself.

Phone calls are 20 cents per minute from the Bahamas and while it won’t break the bank, it’s an additional charge, so we try to reach out to friends and family for calls on Skype, Facebook Messenger or Whatsapp. But, understandably, most people don’t want to set up new accounts on apps they don’t already have, and using these apps requires a coordination of schedules on both ends that can be tricky – especially for us, when data can be hit or miss.

For the fellow cruisers we meet, we seldom travel together for more than a few weeks before parting ways. Some have cell phone plans, some don’t. Some check their email, some don’t.

But one platform that everyone seems to check, that for whatever reason loads even in the most remote places, with the slightest of data connections, is Facebook.

Cruising is an amazing endeavor. It is the best decision we ever made for our family. In our three months in the Bahamas, we have been rewarded more than I ever could have imagined in the richness of our life and the variety of our experiences. But it is also, at times, extremely lonely.

Facebook is our connection to family and friends back at home. It’s a way for us to see what’s going on in our old community. It’s a way for us to stay connected with the friends we meet while sailing the open seas. And it’s a way for me to share our day, even if it’s just to the social abyss.

I post not to collect likes, or count comments – certainly not to clog anyone’s feed.

I post for the comfort it brings to me, knowing that even though friends are hundreds, sometimes thousands of miles away, they’re still right there, on the other side of that screen.

13 thoughts on “Post Happy

  1. I’m incensed that someone would leave a snarky post like that. I don’t even know what the quotes around “remote locations” mean — but I can guess: I’m hearing envy gone a little bitter. When I think of all the silly posts I see on Facebook!! Yours are fascinating. And while it’s nice that a little girl has sold x number of cookies, and I root for them all, those photos pale beside Claire looking at something new or creating crafts on board. I was awed by the photo of Claire looking out to sea with her dress floating in the breeze; it looks like a lovely painting. Seeing and reading about you and your husband discovering the exotic and the exasperating along your sailing adventure beats a lot of what I see on Facebook. As a freelance writer, I too enjoy Facebook for its abiity to keep me connected to colleagues, friends, and relatives. I’m sorry you received such an insensitive and perplexing post. Can you hear my umbrage? ha! Happy sailing, and thanks again for taking us along on your fantastic voyage.

    Like

    • Hi, Julie! Thank you so much for your kind words, and for reading! I know that, especially with Facebook, it’s all relative as to what’s important to who. But the beauty is that you can control your settings so you only see what you want to see! If someone thinks I post too much, they could just select to not include me in their feed! But alas, truly, I don’t think the comment was meant the way it came across, and I try to realize that in terms of connectivity, (most) people don’t understand or value it until you lose it, and that’s okay. All the best to you! What have you been writing these days? I always loved your articles and would treasure reading more! (bTW, that picture of Claire is my favorite, too. 🙂

      Like

  2. You can “clog my feed” any day of the week. I enjoy hearing about your adventures; your exciting times and your challenges. I’m living my desires to travel through your family, when our pocketbook doesn’t allow it. Lol. So please keep sharing. We look forward to it.

    Like

  3. Please! Clog my feed! I absolutely love your posts, messages, blogs. It adds so much joy to my life that I we made a friendship with our babes back in Oak Park that still endures! Helena loves to look at the pictures of Claire. It’s a way to feel connected still when we can’t pop over for a quick playdate.

    I agree, whatever “acquaintance” that was has a case of envy and doesn’t deserve to be on your feed anyways.

    xoxo

    Like

  4. I do not know you, but in a way I do. I am a boater who also enjoys the adventure (albeit a bit closer to home and a land-based existence). I too enjoy reading your posts. Enjoy your journey with your family and know that many cheer you on!

    Like

  5. Sorry you feel the need to post this. The lifestyle we live it soooooo different and we LOVE knowing where our traveling friends are. Dirt dwellers just don’t understand…before we moved onto our boat, I didn’t either. Miss you three and love knowing all’s well and you’re enjoying your time in the Bahamas. I would love to see Clair’s reacting to some of the new things she has come in contact with. Keep posting and having fun. Hugs

    Like

    • Hi, Rhonda! Miss you, too! Yes, that’s what I kept reminding myself – before I left, I didn’t get it either. Hope you guys are doing well! What are your cruising plans? You’re on the hard, now, right?

      Like

  6. Loved this blog and hope you don’t mind I shared it, I will also be following…You can clog my feed anytime. We are just hauling out in Jacksonville Fl after a fun cruising season in the Bahamas and cant wait to some day meet. Linda SV DevOcean

    Like

Leave a Reply

